June 15, 2024

In the final of the T20 Asia Cup 2022 in UAE, Pakistan will field first against Sri Lanka after winning the toss. At the Dubai International Stadium, Pakistan captain Babar Azam has decided to field first after winning the important toss.

Pakistan’s fast bowler Naseem Shah and spinner Shadab Khan have returned to the team. Usman Qadir and Hasan Ali have been kept on the bench. Sri Lanka has not made any changes to the team.

Both Pakistan and Sri Lanka will enter the field thinking of winning the title. Sri Lanka remained undefeated in the Super Four and played the final. Pakistan lost to Sri Lanka by 5 wickets in the Super Four. It seems that the team that fields first will dominate in the final. However, the pressure of finals is even more. Sri Lanka will look to chase the target.

In the last four matches, Sri Lanka chased down the winning target. Sri Lanka’s morale is high as they have consistently met the huge target. Sri Lanka defeated Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan to reach the final.

Sri Lanka has won the Asia Cup title five times so far. Sri Lanka won the title for the first time in 1986 by defeating Pakistan by 5 wickets. In 1997, they defeated India by 8 wickets in the final. In 2004 and 2008, it won the title by defeating India continuously. The last time they won the title was by defeating Pakistan by 5 wickets in the 2014 Asia Cup.

Pakistan wants to win the title for the third time. Pakistan beat Bangladesh by two runs in the final in 2012. Before that, Pakistan won the Asia Cup in 2000 by defeating Sri Lanka by 39 runs.

Head to Head:

Pakistan and Sri Lanka have played 22 T20Is so far. Pakistan has won 13 and Sri Lanka 7 matches. In the last five T20Is, Sri Lanka has won 4 matches and Pakistan has won one match. Pakistan last defeated Sri Lanka in T20I in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *