June 15, 2024

Cricket Players Association of Nepal (CPAN) is presenting awards in five different categories on Friday (August 24). The awards will start on Friday after 5:30 pm at Akama in Dhumbarahi.

CPAN will award Cricket Player of the Year Male and Female in 2022. All-rounder Dipendra Singh Airey, fast bowler Karan KC, vice-captain Rohit Paudel and opener Kushal Bhurtel are nominated for the cricket player of the year. Legspinner Sandeep Lamichhane’s name has been removed from the nomination, the organizers informed. After the arrest warrant was issued, his name was removed from two categories of the award.

Dipendra had performed well in the last series with Papua New Guinea and Malaysia. Dipendra scored a century against Papua New Guinea in ODI and T20I against Malaysia. Karan KC has been consistently performing well in recent times.

Vice-captain Rohit Paudel has also been performing well in the last year. Rohit played a century of 126 runs against Papua New Guinea at Kirtipur ground last March. This is the highest score scored by any Nepali player in international cricket.

Similarly, record opener Kushal Bhurtel has also been nominated. Bhurtel performed well in the T20I series against the Netherlands and Malaysia last year. Bhurtel became the first player in the world to achieve this feat by scoring consecutive fifties in the first three T20I matches of his debut. Kushal scored a century against the Philippines in T20 World Cup Global Qualifier A.

Similarly, the best player of the year for women has also been announced. Jyoti Pandey, Indu Burma, Sita Ranamargar, Kavita Kunwar, and Ruveena Chhetri are among the best female players of the year.

Sita is the most run-scoring batsman in a single match in Nepali women’s international cricket. She played a record inning of 82 runs in the second T20I match against Qatar in November last year. Similarly, in November, she was selected as the best player of the tournament after performing well in the ICC T20 World Cup Asia region qualifiers.

Indu scored 55 runs in the first T20I match against Qatar. She is the first player from the Nepali women’s team to score a half-century in T20Is. Kativa Kunwar has been performing well in domestic cricket.

Jyoti Pandey has been performing well in both domestic and international cricket. Two years ago, Rubina won the Prime Minister’s Cup title for Province 1 by defeating APF. Rubina has been performing well in domestic cricket.

The winner of the best player of the year for women and men will receive a prize of 1 lakh 32 thousand. Similarly, the nominations for Emerging Player of the Year and Best Moment of the Year 2022 have also been announced. Dev Khanal, Lokesh Bam, Hiranmai Rai, spinner Sagar Dhakal and Adil Ansari have been nominated as Udimayan players.

The nominations for the best moment of the year have also been announced. In the best moment of the year, Nepal defeated Scotland for the first time in its history at its home ground in the ICC World Cup League 2. Dipendrasinh Airi has 105 runs in ODIs against Papua New Guinea and 110 runs in T20Is against Malaysia. 100 runs in a T20I match is a personal high.

Similarly, Ashmina Karmacharya took 5 wickets by spending 10 runs in 3.5 overs against UAE in the semi-final of the T20 Asia Cup qualifiers. But due to rain, Nepal was out of the Asia Cup. Similarly, Kushal Bhurtel made his debut and was dismissed for 62, 61, and 62 runs respectively in three consecutive matches. Sandeep Lamichhane’s name has been removed from this category as well.

The prize amount of both awards will be equal to 66,000 including tax. Special Award 2022 will be given. The winner of the special award will receive 1 lakh 32 thousand including tax. A special award will be given to a player who has made a special contribution to Nepali cricket.

NCCS, an organization dedicated to education, will be the main sponsor of the award. In the NCCS Sipan Cricket Awards, the nominations have been announced by looking at the performance, activities, and special moments of the players of the last two years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *