June 15, 2024

Birgunj emerged victorious in the T20 Mayor’s Cup final held at Siddheshwar Cricket Ground in Kalaiya Sub-Metropolitan City of Bara. The Parsa Cricket Association team Birgunj clinched the Mayor Cup 2079 title by defeating Makwanpur Cricket Association by 23 runs. The winner, Birgunj, was awarded a cash prize of 60,000 while the runner-up, Makwanpur, received 30,000.

In the final match on Saturday, Makwanpur failed to chase the target of 142 runs set by Birganj, losing all their wickets and scoring 118 runs in 19.4 overs. Suvarna Bhatt of Makwanpur scored the highest runs, making 28, followed by Saksham Bastakoti with 25 runs and Gaurav Khadka with 22 runs.

Sahil Hawari, the bowler of Birganj, took 4 wickets for 21 runs in 3.4 overs, while Ranjit Kumar and Saifullah Ansari took 2 wickets each.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, Birganj managed to score 141 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs. Captain Suraj Patel was the top scorer with 49 runs and was awarded the Player of the Final title. Nasruddin Ansari of the same team scored 21 runs, and Sansad Mansuri scored 17 runs. Rijan Dhakal and Sameer Choulagain of Makwanpur took 2 wickets each.

Shub Kansakar of Makwanpur was declared the best player of the tournament and also received the Best Batsman award for scoring 138 runs. He also managed to take 7 wickets. Tritraj Das of Kalaiya Cricket Club, who took 8 wickets, was awarded the Best Bowler of the Tournament title, and Ashish Pokharel of Makwanpur was declared the Emerging Player.

The tournament was organized by Kalaiya Cricket Club, and six teams, including two from India and four from Nepal, competed in the event. The teams played in two stages every day.

Overall, the tournament was a success, with great performances from both Nepalese and Indian teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *