June 16, 2024
Australia's hard-fought victory over Sri Lanka

Australia beat Sri Lanka by three wickets in the second T20I match. Australia also won the three-match T20I series 2-0 one game ahead.

Chasing a victory target of 125 for victory, Australia completed the innings losing 7 wickets in 17.5 overs. Matthew Wade was named Player of the Match for his 26 runs off 26 balls with two boundaries in Australia’s victory. Captain Aaron Finch was dismissed for 24 off 13 balls with four boundaries.

David Warner (21), Mitchell Marsh (11), Steve Smith (5), Glenn Maxwell (19), and Marcus Stoinis (9) were all out. Wade and Zey Richardson shared an unbeaten 27-run stand for the eighth wicket to give Australia a 99-7 lead. Jay Richardson remained unbeaten on 9 off 20 balls.

Sri Lankan leg-spinner Vanindu Hasaranga took 4 wickets for 33 runs in 4 overs. Dushmantha Chamira and Nuwan Thushara took 1-1 wickets.

Earlier, after losing the toss in Colombo, Sri Lanka had scored 124 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka top-scored with 39 off 33 balls with two fours and two sixes. Kushal Mendis was dismissed for 36 off 36 balls with 2 fours and 1 six.

Despite a weak start, Aslanka and Mendis shared 66 runs for the third wicket, showing the potential for a competitive total. Sri Lanka was 73-3 in 11.5 overs when Aslanka was dismissed and then lost wickets in a row. Bhanuka Rajapakse was out for 13, Dasun Shanka for 14 and Vanindu Hasaranga for 12.

Australia’s Ken Richardson took 4 wickets for 30 runs in 4 overs. Zay Richardson took 3 wickets for 26 runs in 4 overs. Glenn Maxwell took 2 wickets for 18 runs in 3 overs. Australia won the first match by 10 wickets. The final match of the series will be played on Friday in Columbia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *