June 15, 2024

Australia emerged victorious in the three-match ODI series against India, with an impressive comeback to seal the series 2-1. The Aussies secured their triumph by beating the home team by 21 runs in the final match, thanks to a stunning bowling display by spinner Adam Zampa.

Despite a valiant effort by Indian skipper Virat Kohli, who scored 54 runs in 72 balls, the hosts fell short of the target of 270 runs, finishing on 248 runs all out in 49.1 overs.

Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma gave India a strong start, adding 65 runs in 9.1 overs. However, Sean Abbott’s catch at deep square leg off the bowling of Zampa put an end to Sharma’s innings, and Gill fell soon after for 37 runs.

Lokesh Rahul and Kohli provided a glimmer of hope for India with a 69-run partnership, but Abbott took a crucial catch at long-on to dismiss Rahul. India’s chances dwindled further when Ashton Agar claimed two important wickets, including that of Kohli, in quick succession.

Hardik Pandya offered some resistance with 40 runs off 40 balls, but Zampa’s four-wicket haul proved too much for India to handle. Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami were the last to depart, ending India’s hopes of victory.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and chose to bat first, putting up a total of 279 runs all out in 49 overs. Mitchell Marsh top-scored for the Aussies with 47 runs off 47 balls, while Travis Head and Alex Carey made valuable contributions of 33 and 38 runs, respectively.

India’s Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets each, while Mohammad Shiraj and Akshar Patel claimed two wickets each.

The series saw both teams register convincing wins, with India winning the first match by 5 wickets and Australia securing a 10-wicket victory in the second match. However, Australia’s impressive performance in the final match ensured they clinched the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *